Skip to content ↓

Pastoral Organisation

PASTORAL CARE

The pastoral care offered to our students at Carshalton Boys Sports College is designed to support them in becoming independent, enquiring and creative young people, enabling them to take PRIDE in themselves, their work and their school. We aim to provide a personalised learning experience for our young people that responds to each person's needs, talents and interests.

Our experienced and talented pastoral teams play a central role in supporting every student's social and academic development.

​Students have a tutor and tutor group who they see every day and who form their immediate family in school. Each year group has a Learning Coordinator and Pastoral Support Officer whose role is to coordinate the activities of the group, support the tutor team and take responsibility for the welfare of group members.

There are lots of opportunities for students to gain leadership experience and take part in the school's decision-making processes. We have an active School Council with representatives from each year group. A rich and diverse curriculum offer and a wide range of extra-curricular activities hopefully ensures that everyone can find something in which to excel.

If you have any concerns about your child's experience of school, please contact the relevant Learning Coordinator or Pastoral Support Officer who will support you.

Lower School - Years 7 & 8

 Deputy Principal  Matt Sadler  msadler@carshaltonboys.org
 Learning Coordinator Year 7  Chris Wales  cwales@carshaltonboys.org
 Learning Coordinator Year 8  Paul Lambert  plambert@carshaltonboys.org
 Pastoral Support Officer, Transition Year 7 & 8  Sarah Tyson  styson@carshaltonboys.org

Upper School - Years 9 & 10

 Deputy Principal  Paul Avery  pavery@carshaltonboys.org
 Learning Coordinator Year 9  Fadi Khawaja  fkhawaja@carshaltonboys.org
 Learning Coordinator Year 10  Julie Haunstetter  jhaunstetter@carshaltonboys.org
 Pastoral Support Officer ELSA, Year 9 & 10  Sarah Sheppard  ssheppard@carshaltonboys.org

Senior School - Years 11, 12 & 13

 Deputy Principal  Matt Robinson  mrobinson@carshaltonboys.org
 Assistant Principal, Head of 6th Form  Paula Cowell  pcowell@carshaltonboys.org
 Learning Coordinator Year 11  Will Harrison  wharrison@carshaltonboys.org
 Learning Coordinator Year 12  Ben Howard  bhoward@carshaltonboys.org
 Learning Coordinator Year 13  Annie White  awhite@carshaltonboys.org
 Pastoral Support Officer Safeguarding, Year11, 12 & 13  Sue Barker  sbarker@carshaltonboys.org